I woke up this morning to find that it is beautiful day. It was quiet outside, what a pleasant surprise after we had some horrible gusty weather during the week.

 

 

I went outside and put the sprinkler on and nature whispered to me “pssst … Spring is here!”

 

 

The little hydrangea which had closed leaf buds during winter has folded open its large rigid leaves. The abelia grandiflora has new lime coloured leaves pointing out everywhere and the peach tree is covered in pink blossoms.

 

It was the first morning which I dared go out wearing short sleeves and it was pleasantly warm.

While I pottered around in the garden, with the little black dog keeping me company every step of the way, the noises of the town slowly but bit by bit encroached on the silence until I could hear neighbours leaving to go and do shopping and I could hear a local artist over a pa system belting out his version of Richard Marx’s song “Hazard” from “Twin Peaks”.

No one understood what I felt for Mary
No one cared until the night she went out walkin’ all alone
And never came home

Man with a badge came knockin’ next mornin’
Here was I surrounded by a thousand fingers suddenly
Pointed right at me

I swear I left her by the river
I swear I left her safe and sound
I need to make it to the river
And leave this old Nebraska town …

