In Feburay 2011 The Laughing Housewife challenged me to write a post on the topic Camera.

For over 10 years I had not taken many photos. While writing this post I realised how much I enjoyed taking and sharing photos many years ago.

From that moment on I started taking photos again and even posted my own photos on my blog. I started to enjoy blogging even more. Thanks Tilly for reminding me of a hobby which I enjoyed so much. Here is the reblogged post.

Theme suggested by Tilly Bud.

Although I always got a present for my birthday I was extremely excited when in my early teens one year my mom said “Your birthday is coming up what would you like for a present?” This was quite unusual because my parents usually decided on a gift together and it was always a surprise. After giving it some thought I decided that I either wanted a bicycle or a camera.

When my birthday arrived I received a Polaroid Instamatic camera which was quite a novelty for a teenager to have in those days. I became a bit of a nuisance with my camera everyone who came to visit had to pose for a photo.

The Polaroid film came packaged in tens and looked like a cassette which you inserted into the camera. It worked out at about R1 per photo which was a bit expensive in those days but it was for the novelty of having instant colour photos. The flash was separate it slotted in at the top of the camera. When taking a photo the photographer and the subject being photographed had to remain absolutely motionless for one minute otherwise the image would be distorted. It was like magic to watch the image appear out of what was first a totally black square, which gradually became milky and then out of the hazy blur the images would become clear, while holding it in your hand.

Here is a photo taken in Durban in 1980 using my Polaroid Instamatic camera.

Later on I got a Kodak 110 camera with electronic built-in flash. That was a treat. I could happily snap away not only did the photos cost less to develop but you could buy film for 12 or 24 exposures at a time. The downside of course was that you had to hand in your film and then wait for at least an hour for your film to be processed and printed. Then you went and collected your photos, negatives and replacement film.

It was so exciting opening the envelope and looking at your photos. There was always one that you had forgotten you had taken it because it could have been taken months earlier. Then there was also the dreaded discovery of the flops. With the instamatic camera you could immediately see if a photo was flawed but with the photos taken on the 110 there was no chance of retaking you holiday photos if something went wrong.

Today each of us carries a camera phone with us and really take the technology for granted. We now edit and print our own photos. The real enthusiasts have digital cameras which can make an amateur photographer look like a professional.

