If there are any South Africans reading this, they might be shocked that I would post a recipe which probably dates back to the late 1970’s or early 1980’s. Well I was sitting in the office at work and suddenly I got a craving. It took me a very long time to realise that I had a craving for this jelly mousse. I was a teenager the last time I made this and I could not remember how it is made.

My search on Google took several attempts, shows you it really is old and not popular anymore.

IF YOU CANNOT EAT PINEAPPLE: Although I love pineapples my body has changed over the years and so I should not eat pineapple unless I am prepared to put up with the painful after effects. So I changed everything in the recipe which is pineapple to peach. Thus I used peach flavoured jelly and a small tin of peach slices. The fruit syrup did not fill one cup so I simply topped it up with a little water.

I have a really sweet tooth so I decorated with chocolate sprinkles and chopped cherries.

MAKES 8 large helpings. Super easy and quick to make but must chill for at least 8 hours before serving.

Click on photo to link to recipe. I followed the instructions and it worked out 100% delicious.

 

pineapple-fridge-tart

 

